Change of Major

Note: Students are not allowed to change major in the first year.

1. Students who apply for change of major outside their own Schools should have satisfied at least one of the following minimum conditions for change of major:
a. the student has taken course(s) of at least 6 units with an average grade of not less than B- that would count towards the major requirements of the programme; or
b. the admission score of the student must be better than the student at the lowest decile who had been successfully admitted to the programme concerned in the same Province in the same year that s/he was first admitted to the University; or
c. the student has attained a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above in the current academic year.

2. Students MUST submit the application(s) within the prescribed period to the School(s) concerned, indicating fulfillment of at least one of the conditions listed in (1) above for change of major, and submit their document, e.g. unofficial transcript, admission score ranking certification (issued by the Registry upon query), if applicable, for Schools’ reference. Students should also observe other requirements, e.g. interview, test, etc., if any, as requested by concerned Schools.

3. Students admitted under broad-based programmes can only apply for change of major after they have successfully declared the major.

4. As regulated by the Ministry of Education, students are not allowed to change major under the following circumstances:
a. transferring to majors which are not specified in the admission schemes, applicable only to students admitted by exemption of Gaokao (免试生), or
b. irregular academic status, such as suspension, registration deferment.

5. Schools will indicate approval or not two weeks after the application deadline. Students are required to confirm their acceptance of the NEW major (for approval cases) in writing. Once a new major is accepted, all other successful application(s), if any, will be rejected automatically. The confirmation means the final decision. There is no appeal if an application is rejected.

6. The application results will be posted on Registry’s website for public notice with no less than five working days. For all successful applications, students will receive a formal approval letter from Registry concerning the change of major. The expected graduation term will be extended as appropriate, if the NEW major was not offered in the admitted year of the student.

Note: Students who wish to change major inside their own Schools should refer to the School notices about the requirements and observe their procedures.

香港中文大学(深圳)转专业须知

注:一年级不允许转专业

1. 申请跨学院转专业学生须满足以下三项条件中的至少一项,方可获学院考虑批准转专业:
• 已修拟转入专业课程的6个学分,并平均成绩不低于B-;或
• 入学成绩须高于拟转入专业当年同一省份录取成绩排名最后10%的学生;或
• 当年累计平均积点不低于3.0。


2. 学生须在规定期限内向拟转入学院递交转专业申请表,表明已达到以上三项条件至少一项,并提交相关文件材料,如成绩单,录取成绩排名(由教务处应申请出具)等,以供相关学院审核参考。学生亦须留意学院是否对转专业设定了其他要求,例如面试、测试等。


3. 如学生为大类招生入学,须在专业申报结束后方能申请转专业。


4. 根据教育部有关规定,下列情形不允许转专业:
1) 特殊录取类型学生申请转到统招专业的,如免试生;
2) 休学、保留学籍等学籍状况不正常的。

5. 转专业申请审批结果在申请截止后两周内由学院公布。学生须书面确认接受已获批准的新专业。一旦确认接受该新专业,其他获批转专业申请(如有)将被自动取消,此确认的新专业为最终结果。转专业申请如不获批准,不予申诉。

6. 转专业结果将通过教务处网站进行公示,公示期不少于五个工作日。所有成功获批准并确认新专业的学生,均会收到由教务处发出的正式批准函件。若新专业并未在录取年份开设,则预计毕业学期将会适当推延。

注:申请学院内部转专业的学生应留意本学院关于转专业要求及程序的通知。